Official site of the Southeastern Indiana Musicians Association Inc. We are fundamentally focused on documenting our areas' rich musical heritage and promoting music awareness, music appreciation, and music education within the community.


Announcements and Updates

Music is the Best Medicine

by: Debbie Blank - Batesville Herald-Tribune

The Gibson Theatre was filled to overflowing Nov. 3 with over 300 supporters who all love music, crave music. They were there for the first Southeastern Indiana Musicians Association Hall of Fame ceremony to be held in Batesville after 17 years at the Aurora Farmers Fair.

It was a classy evening reminiscent of the best Grammys shows with a blend of heartfelt introductions and acceptance speeches and three masterful performances, including an amazing acoustic set by Ron Hollowell while attendees found their seats and bought snacks and a powerful closer by former Grascal Jamie Johnson with two Nashville songwriters, wife Susanne Mumpower and Shawn Byrne.

The audience was so appreciative of the contributions of honorees, some of whom got teary-eyed recalling musical experiences together across decades.

"Nine new inductees are coming into the Hall of Fame tonight. It's going to be an awesome evening!" predicted President Caz Burdette at the outset.

"We started back in 2001" when the organization was founded by Ken Jackson, who stood to applause.

Eight other musicians on the first board – Nelson Elliot, Bob Hudson, Bob Bischoff, Stafford Ripley, Clifford “Dutch” Hoffmeier, Bob Linkmeyer, Carolyn Leming and George Smith – came together to honor area music makers and the tradition has continued. See full article here.

Brian DeBruler