Official site of the Southeastern Indiana Musicians Association Inc. We are fundamentally focused on documenting our areas' rich musical heritage and promoting music awareness, music appreciation, and music education within the community.


Announcements and Updates

Six will be inducted into Musicians Hall of Fame

The 15th annual Southeastern Indiana Musicians Hall of Fame induction ceremonies will take place at the Aurora Farmers Fair Stage 2, Second and Main streets, Aurora, Wednesday, Sept. 30, at 8 p.m., said Vice President Caz Burdette.

The public is invited to the ceremonies.

The Southeastern Indiana Musicians Hall of Fame Class of 2015 includes six inductees:

• Charles “Charlie” Dole, Logan, lives in north Dearborn County. He plays guitar, banjo, mandolin and many other stringed instruments and jammed with many, including his father, Ray Swales, Harley Gabbard, and many good friends.

• Randy Garrett, Dillsboro, plays guitar, bass guitar, piano and drums. He is a musician for many local and regional Southern gospel groups and is active with the music ministry at New Life Southern Baptist Church, Manchester.

• Guitarist and vocalist Stevie Johns, Rising Sun, performed with area groups including Connections, Pryme Time, Deja Blue and The Side Effects. In addition, he performs at community benefits, including The Wounded Warrior Project, American Federation of Rider fundraisers and his local church.

• Gwen Miller, Aurora and Lawrenceburg, played pianos and organs at local churches, including the First Evangelical and Reformed Church of Aurora, First Baptist Church of Aurora and Mount Tabor United Methodist Church as well as many local functions.

• William “Bill” Schein, Batesville and Milan, will be honored posthumously. The pianist, organist and band director was the music director at Milan High School and Middle School for nearly 40 years. Schein played the organ in the U.S. Army during services along the Iron Curtain. He also served as organist for St. John’s United Church of Christ and St. Mark’s Lutheran Church, Batesville. The pianist for the former Fritz Turner Orchestra held memberships in many music organizations.

• Judy Ann Smith, Lawrenceburg, is a vocalist, pianist, organist and saxophonist. She provides music at many area churches, including St. Lawrence Catholic Church and Beecher’s Presbyterian Church, Lawrenceburg. Smith also enhanced performances by Lawrenceburg’s Rivertown Players.

To be eligible for the Southeastern Indiana Musicians Hall of Fame, a person must be or have been a resident in Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio or Switzerland County for at least 15 years and performing for at least that amount of time.

Nomination forms are available at the public libraries in those counties.

Brian DeBruler